Tuesday, February 08, 2011

The Rough Guide to Space Opera: John C. Wright - Blue Tyson

John C. Wright is a science fiction and fantasy writer with 9 novels written and over double that number of short stories. Of subgenre interest is his Golden Age trilogy and some short stories. Twilight of the Gods is a generation warship story. Guest Law is a story of the dangers of being on a generation warship. The Golden Age trilogy is set in the far future, when a dilettante playboy son of the ruler of society finds out his memory was altered, and he sets out to rebel in a society that has stagnated. Power armour and superweapons abound in his return from being outcast.

Guest Law

The Golden Age

The Phoenix Exultant

The Golden Transcendence